Domestic Family Penalties
A family violence conviction can lead to numerous life-altering and long-term penalties, including up to one (1) year in jail, fines up to $4000.00, anger management or family violence classes, probation, and a finding of family violence that may affect the custody of your children. If you have a prior family violence conviction, you could be facing up to ten (10) years in prison, as well as a fine up to $10,000.00. The penalties also increase if the violence is aggravated in any way with a weapon or if you cause an injury to a child. Depending on the circumstances, you may also be prohibited from contacting the complainant for an extended period of time, thereby preventing you from spending time with your loved one.
Unlike most criminal offenses in Texas, you can never seal your criminal record if you are convicted of a family violence crime or accepted deferred adjudication with a finding of family violence. To avoid these significant penalties, it is critical that you contact Chad West. He is skilled and experienced in these very sensitive cases.
How to get Domestic Violence Charges Dropped
Most District Attorney’s Offices in Texas have enacted a “No Drop” policy. This means that once a complaint has been filed, the complaining party does not have the option of simply “dropping” the charges. This is often the case with protective orders as well. Instead the state will pick up the charges and you will be taken to court, regardless of the complaining party’s wishes. Our office will work to overcome this “No Drop” policy and ensure that a reasonable outcome is obtained.